Members of the Sutton County 4-H were recognized for their contributions and accomplishments over the past year during the annual 4-H Awards banquet Tuesday, August 27, at the Civic Center in Sonora.

Additionally, members and guests enjoyed a traditional style picnic dinner of hamburgers and hotdogs before hearing from guest speaker Andy Kolb, Lillian M Hudspeth Hospital Administrator. Kolb talked about the importance of being open to new ideas, learning from shortcomings and persistence to overcome adversity and achieve success in life.

Getting to the real business of the evening, awards were presented for a variety of accomplishments during the past year.

To be eligible for awards, 4-H members must complete a project. However, to be considered for special recognition, they must submit an awards application. These awards are as follows:

Project Completion Awards:


Carson Cahill, Jillian Castro, Kodi Davis, Molly Friess, Catarina Hernandez, Aidan Leamon, Ryan Mungia, Makinna Price, Esmeralda Salazar, Francisco Salazar.

Judging Awards:
Range Science:
Emory Jones, Cassia Hernandez, Caden Dorman, Zachary Dorman, Weston Fisher.
Range Evaluation Buckles: Cassia Hernandez and Emory Jones.

Mohair Judging:
Corbin Crenwelge, Owen Jones, Presley Mayfield.

Brook Kaiser, Gage Owen, Reagan Owen

Veterinary Science:
Madalyn Fisher

Personal Development:
Kadee Petty

Kenzee Bryant, Jazlyn Garcia, Kaasi Gutierrez, Cinthia Huerta, Hollis Snyder, Jayla Williams. District Photography Awards:
Ashton Bryant, Jonathan Cardenas, Corbin Crenwelge, Sicily Guiterrez, Laane Abalos, Kinsey Bryant, Adele Caldwell, Luke Snyder, and Madalyn Fisher

Food & Nutrition: AanzLeigh Abalos, Caanan Abalos, Laane Abalos, Beau Blackbird, Lynden Cearley, Eduardo Salazar, Kendall Thorp, Rylie Thorp, Gentri Trainer.

Shooting Sports:
Ashton Bryant, Adele Caldwell, Caidn Cardenas, Jonathan Cardenas, Ava Rodriguez, Crispin Rodriguez, Hope Sanchez, Luke Snyder, Avery Wardlaw, Stride Wardlaw, Sicily Gutierrez.

Meat Goat:
Koda Davis, Brian Mendoza, Grace Moore, Jack Rogers, Jaci Dutton, Dalissa Sanchez.

The involvement of adult leaders makes 4-H projects possible. These awards and accomplishments would not be possible without the following individuals Tammy and David Fisher and John Jones, Wool & Mohair Judging, Pam Crenwelge, Photography, Jody Harris, Shooting Sports, Brittny Abalos, Food and Nutrition, Shanna Petty and Brenda Mungia, Club Treasurers and Lisa Price, Club Manager. These individuals are greatly appreciated for their leadership and commitment to helping the local 4-H youth.

Additionally, six Special Awards were presented.

Koda Davis was awarded the Ray & Nancy Glasscock Award.

Catarina Hernandez received the Earwood Award.

Sicily Gutierrez was honored with the Family & Consumer Science Award.

Madalyn Fisher and Koda Davis received the I Dare You Award.

Pam Crenwelge and Lisa Pricewere awarded the 4-H Leader Excellence Award and Bob and Diane Malone, Lost Lake Ranch, received the coveted Friend of 4-H Award.

In closing, special recognition went to Ralph and Annette Estrada who helped make Tuesday’s event possible.

As well, appreciation was extended to all of the volunteers for their ongoing contributions to the overall success of young 4-H members.