Deer season is just around the corner. There will be thousands of hunters in the field in pursuit of a white-tailed deer. But before going to deer camp, there are two things to keep in mind- safety and the law.

Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.

Minimum age of certification is 9 years, and the cost is $15. Hunter education not only teaches hunting safety, skills, and responsibility, but is also the first step in a lifelong commitment to conservation and sportsmanship.

To that effect, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas Parks & Wildlife Department will offer a Hunter Education course. It will be held at the Schleicher County Civic Center on September 17th, and starts at 8:00 a.m.. The cost is $15. The course is open to anyone.

The course will be hybrid (free online course + field course). The online + field course is perfect for older teens and adult students. For younger students, adults should assist them with their online course and accompany then during the field course.

Pre-Registration Required. To get started on the Free Online Course portion, as well as information and registration visit https://tpwd.ele
mentlms.com/course/hunter-education-internet-field-course-1372/

Participants should follow the chapter topic links found under the "Table of Contents". They take the quizzes at the end of the first eight sections and print out the results. The final step is to attend the one-day field course. The field course will provide a review, live-fire practice, and testing.

The online portion must be completed before attending the course.
Call Game Warden, Derek Rogers, at 226-4356 for more details.

If you want to learn about firearm and hunter safety or need to take a hunter certification course, don’t miss this opportunity. Hunters’ responsible efforts will safeguard hunting opportunities and adventures in the great outdoors.