More than 800 laws were passed by Texas legislators during the 86th legislative session this year. Many of the laws took effect this past Sunday, September 1.

From lemonade stands to raising the legal smoking age, Texas lawmakers had a lot to consider this past session in Austin.

Below are some of the laws that passed and what they mean for Texans.

SB 1232 allows Texans to have alcohol delivered to their home. The bill states that the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission will issue permits to qualifying beer and wine retailers so they can deliver alcohol to residences.

HB 234 allows children under the age of 18 to sell non-alcoholic beverages on private property without the need for a permit. In the past, lemonade stands, without the proper operating permits would have been shut down. No permit is required now.

SB 21 changes the legal smoking age. Under the new law, anyone under the age of 21 is not allowed to purchase, consume or possess tobacco products. This includes cigarette, e-cigarettes or any other tobacco products. This change does not apply to active military members under 21 years old. This includes e-cigarettes and all related tobacco products.

HB 446 makes it legal to carry brass knuckles, clubs and self-defense wild kat keychains. It is not required that these weapons be registered to carry.
Lawmakers also loosened many of the restrictions on firearms including guns in public places like schools and churches, on rented or leased property and during disasters.

SB 535 allows Texans to carry guns in churches, synagogues and other places of worship. Churches maintain the right to prohibit firearms with proper signage.

HB 302 prevents landlords from restricting tenants and their guest from carrying firearms in lease agreements.

SB 741 prevents property owners’ associations from banning the storage of guns on rental properties.

HB 1387 allows for an increase in the number of school marshals appointed by a campus who carry a gun. The bill states that schools may appoint one marshal per 100 students in average daily attendance. Private schools may appoint one marshal per 100 students.

HB 1143 prohibits school districts from restricting the manner in which handgun license holders store guns and ammunition in their vehicles in parking areas, other than requiring that they be kept out of sight.

HB 117 allows Texans to carry handguns without a license when leaving or returning from a declared disaster area.

Other laws passed this year relate to selling hemp-based products, licenses and state traffic fines.

HB 1325 legalized hemp farming in Texas as well as the sale and possession of hemp-based products. Hemp-derived products may be sold over the counter as long as they do not contain more than 0.3 percent THC.

HB 2048 repeals the Driver Responsibility Program allowing Texans who have had their licenses suspended to reinstate them. The bill also allows an increase in state fines for traffic and intoxicated drivers violation. State traffic fines will increase from $30 to $50 and fines for driving while intoxicated will increase to $3,000 for the first conviction within 36 months, $4,500 for a subsequent conviction within 36 months or $6,000 for a conviction if a person’s alcohol concentration level was proven to be 0.16 or higher.

HB 2789 is a bill criminalizing indecent digital exposure. It is illegal for someone to send unsolicited nude photos to another person. Each offense carries a $500 fine.

HB 1518 prevents minors, those under 18 years old, to purchase over the counter cough medicines like NyQuil and Robitussin.

HB 547 allows individuals to show proof of hunting and fishing licensure on their phone via the Texas parks and Wildlife website or a photo of the license. Texas requires anyone 17 years or older to have licenses or permits to fish in public freshwater or saltwater areas.