Sonora High school will hold a graduation ceremony as planned Thursday, May 21, at Bronco Stadium. However, this year’s commencement will have more of a picnic style feel than previous years.

In keeping with required social distancing amid COVID-19 concerns, Sonora ISD has developed a plan that will allow the Class of 2020 graduates, all 74, to receive their diploma while a limited number of family watches from designated stations spread across the football field. 

Others may watch the ceremony live on YouTube. The link will be available at

SHS 2020 graduates are allowed only six guests at the ceremony. Guests must have on a wrist band to be allowed entrance into the stadium. No one without a wrist band will be allowed to enter.  There will be no exceptions. Family and friends with a wrist band must enter through the main gate on the west side.  Police will be present to enforce guidelines. Guests are encouraged to wear a mask or some kind of face covering. Guests may be screened upon entering the stadium. 

All guests must sit as a family unit within marked boxes on the football field. Marked squares are first come first serve. Marked spaces are spaced 10 feet apart. Guests must bring lawn chairs to sit or remain standing during the graduation ceremony. Children under 12 years and adults over 65 years are encouraged to watch commencement from home.

Graduates will march in as usual in single file, spaced 15 feet apart. They will be seated in designated places in the home stands.

This year’s ceremony will be shorter than traditional graduation events. There will be no scholarships announced. Commencement will include an opening prayer, speeches by the valedictorian and salutatorian and a closing prayer. Commencement will end with the school song. The SHS band will not be present.  

Following commencement, guests are asked to wait in their designated space until ushered out of the stadium one at a time by school personnel.
Wilson Johnson will deliver the valedictory address and Isabella Samaniego will give the salutatory address Thursday evening.

Magna Cum Laude graduates include Angela Yaritza Gonzalez, Catarina Louise Hernandez, Kadee Brian Petty, Blayze Wesley Sykes, Traci Falbie Vickers, Kathryn Jo Wardlaw and Ashley Louise Zook. 

The criteria for honor graduate status is as follows: summa cum laude, 99.0 grade point average and above, magna cum laude, 95 grade point average and cum laude, 93 grade point average.

The graduation ceremony is slated to begin at 8:00 p.m. 

The graduates, as their individual names are called, will receive their diplomas and the tassel on each graduate’s cap will be ceremonially transferred from the right to the left side to signify their accomplishment. School board members and administrators are required to wear masks and gloves.
The graduating class of 2020 includes: 

Braden Adams, Ethan Adams, Enedina Alvarez, Rafael Alviso, Brock Aschenbeck, Jayde Bean, Dylan Carre, Christian Castilleja, Darrek Castro, Jesus Chavez, Harley Daniel, David Delgado, Aldo DeLuna, Samantha Escamilla, Richard Espinosa, Mariana Fernandez-Jarmillo, Tully Flanagan, Daisy Fuentes, Manuel Fuentes, Shyanne Gamez, Kole Gann, Destiny Garcia, James Garrett, Christina Garza, Jesus Gaytan, Angela Gonzalez, Oscar Gutierrez, Ethan Hamm, BraeLynn Harris, Dylan Hazelton, Catarina Hernandez, Deborha Hernandez, Ethan Hocutt, Brennan Hooks, Eduardo Infante, Jr., Danica Jimenez, Wilson Johnson, Sarah Kimbrell, Juan Limon, Michael Lira, Jalen Lopez, Dakoto Love, Johnny Luna, Jr., Kami Lux, Adamari Mata, Hailey Meador, Dekota Morrow, Allison Murphy, Alex Nino, Jacob O’Banon, Joshua O’Banon, Damian Ozuna, Analy Palacios, Jordan Paredes, Melanie Perez, Ty Perez, Kadee Petty, Abigayle Portillo, Kevin Ramos-Acosta, Thomas Rodriguez, Francisco Salazar, Isabella Samaniego, Aleasha Smith, Haley Smith, Blayze Sykes, Thomas Talamantez, David Torres, Jose Torres, Davien Vasquez, Anthony Vela, Traci Vickers, Kathryn Wardlaw, Gabriela Zapata and Ashley Zook.

All of the graduates deserve commendation for their accomplishment. Congratulations Class of 2020!