With the 2020 general election just 26 days away, voters in some states have already begun casting their ballots early. In Texas, early voting, by personal appearance, begins Tuesday, October 13. Early voting ends Friday, October 30. Registered voters may also vote by mail during this time if they qualify.

Election day will be held Tuesday, November 3.

On election day, Sutton County voters will cast their ballots at the Sutton County Courthouse Annex building located at 300 E. Oak Street, in Sonora.

Those who head out to cast their ballots early may do so weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., with extended hours on Tuesday, October 20 and October 27 from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the respective precinct poll locations.

Precinct 1, also At-Large, voting will be held at the Sutton County Civic Center located at 1700 N. Crockett Street.

Precinct 2 voting will be held at the LMH Wellness Center located at 308 Hudspeth Street.

Precinct 3 voting will be held at the Sutton County Courthouse Annex building meeting room located at 300 E.Oak Street.

Precinct 4 voting will be held at the Sonora Fire Station located at 510 S. Concho Avenue.

In addition to seeing statewide, congressional and legislative officials, Sutton County voters will also see county and local offices on the ballot. Sample ballots are posted on the county website at www.co.sutton.tx.us.

Here are the local choices.

In the City of Sonora election, voters will choose between a current Council Member Juanita Gomez and former Council Member Juanita Gandar Barrera for Mayor of Sonora. Whoever the voters choose will replace outgoing Mayor Wanda Shurley whose term has expired. Shurley is not seeking re election so that she can spend more time with her family.

Council Member, Ward 1, Norm Rousselot is seeking re election. He is running against opponent Darrell Barker.

There are also two hopefuls stumping for Council Member, Ward 2. They are Tai Araujo and Mike Sanchez.

In the race for Sutton County Hospital District Board of Directors, there are a handful of candidates.

For Precinct 3, Incumbent Edward Earwood is running against Brigitte Rogers and Veronica Esquivel. For Precinct 1, Board Member Adelita Alvarez is campaigning against, Irene Dominguez. Two individuals are running for the At-Large seat. They are Randy Knight and Sharon Holman.

As well, there are a number of uncontested office representatives on the ballot as a result of the March Primary.

They include:

District Attorney, 112th Judicial District:
Laurie K. English

County Attorney:
Dawn B. Cahill

Oscar Chavez

County Tax Assessor-Collector:
Kathy Sanchez Marshall

County Commissioner Precinct 1:
Lee C. Bloodworth

County Commissioner Precinct 3:
Carl Teaff

As for President of the United States, a Democratic candidate hasn’t won Texas since 1976 when Jimmy Carter was elected to office. This year, polls are showing it to be a tight race between President Donald Trump, a Republican, and former Vice President Joe Biden, his Democratic challenger. If Biden wins the state’s 38 electoral votes, there would be little chance that Trump would win re election.

The senate race has also become contentious. Seeking a fourth term, U.S. Sen. John. Cornyn, a Republican, is facing, Air Force veteran MJ Hegar, a Democrat, and possibly his toughest challenger yet.

The state and federal choices on this year’s ballot are:

Donald J. Trump/Michael R. Pence, R
Joseph R. Biden/Kamala D. Harris, D
Jo Jorgensen/Jeremy “Spike” Cohen, L
Howie Hawkins/Angela Walker, G

U. S. Senator:
John Cornyn, R
Mary “Mj” Hegar, D
Kerry Douglas Mckennon, L
David B. Collins, G

U. S. Representative District 23:
Tony Gonzales, R
Gina Ortiz Jones, D
Beto Villela, L

Railroad Commissioner:
James “Jim” Wright, R
Chrysta Castañeda, D
Matt Sterett, L
Katija “Kat” Gruene, G

Chief Justice, Supreme Court:
Nathan Hecht, R
Amy Clark Meachum, D
Mark Ash, L

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6, Unexpired Term:
Jane Bland, R
Kathy Cheng, D

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7:
Jeff Boyd, R
Staci Williams, D
William Bryan Strange III, L

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8:
Brett Busby, R
Gisela D. Triana, D
Tom Oxford, L

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 3:
Bert Richardson, R
Elizabeth Davis Frizell, D

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 4:
Kevin Patrick Yeary, R
Tina Clinton, D

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 9:
David Newell, R
Brandon Birmingham, D

Member, State Board of Education, District 1:
Jennifer Ivey, R
Georgina Perez, D

State Senator, District 28:
Charles Perry, R

State Representative District 53:
Andrew S. Murr, R
Joe P. Herrera, D

Chief Justice, 4th Court of Appeals District:
Renee Yanta, R
Rebeca Martinez, D